Wednesday, November 02, 2016

Ultimate Results at The World Games

Ultimate (or "Flying Disc") has been played at The World Games starting in 2001. The next World Games are scheduled for July 20-30, 2017, in Wroclaw, Poland - the same location as the 2016 World Junior Ultimate Championships. WFDF has already announced the six countries that qualified to participate in the 2017 IWGA Flying Disc (Ultimate) event; Australia, Canada, Colombia, Japan, Poland, and USA.

Since 2001, 4 events have been held and only four (4) countries have medaled at The World Games. The USA National Team is the only country to have won gold multiple times, and has won three (3) consecutive golds since 2005.  The coaches of gold-medal US World Games teams have been: Ted Munter (2005), Greg Connelly (2009), Alex Ghesquiere and Matt Tsang (2013). Ghesquiere and Tsang return as coaches for the 2017 U.S. World Games ultimate squad.

Medal History at The World Games: Flying Disc [Ultimate]

TWG Medals by country
USA = 4 (3 gold, 1 silver)
Canada = 3 (1 gold, 2 bronze)
Australia = 3 (2 silver, 1 bronze)
Japan = 2 (1 silver, 1 bronze)

No comments: