Thursday, December 18, 2014

D.C. Current Honored by the D.C. Council

Council of the District of Columbia honored the D.C. Current's championship with a ceremonial resolution, aptly named "D.C. Current's National Championship Recognition Resolution of 2014." This Legislation (#CER20-0262) was introduced by Councilmembers David Grosso, Tommy Wells, Marion Barry, Jack Evans, and Yvette M. Alexander in October 2014 and approved on Tuesday, December 17, 2014.

The resolution's purpose was to "to recognize the District of Columbia based men's Ultimate team, D.C. Current, for winning the 2014 Major League Ultimate National (MLU) Championship." A handful of DC Current players attended the event. The Council recognized the Washington Wizards in a similar fashion back in May 2014, Bryce Harper in April 2013, and DC Scandal in December 2013.

(Screengrab via)
Resolution text:

WHEREAS, D.C. Current is an elite District of Columbia based men’s Ultimate teams comprised of skilled and driven athletes that was founded in 2012;

WHEREAS, D.C. Current advanced in conference play and the MLU playoffs to play for the 2014 Major League Ultimate’s Championships in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania;

WHEREAS, on Saturday, July 19, 2014, Current defeated the Vanouver Nighthawks, 23-17, to win the National Championships;

WHEREAS, D.C. Current player Markham Shofner was named the Championship MVP, becoming the MLU’s all-time career playoff points leader; and

WHEREAS, D.C. Current finished the season 11-1 and as the highest scoring squad in the entire Major League Ultimate.

The Council of the District of Columbia acknowledges and honors Current for its outstanding contributions on and off the field to the D.C. metro area.

Unframed D.C. Council Resolution (image via DC Current)

No comments: